Row80 Check In 1-11-12: Rowing Forward

My goals for this week were pretty straight forward: write tomorrow’s Thriller Thursday post and complete the first act of The Prophet. I’m happy to say that so far I’m on point–yesterday I wrote 2000 words, the most I’ve written in one sitting in quite a while. I have two scenes left in Act 1, so I should be able to complete it by next check in. I have my topic for Thriller Thursday, and I’m going to work on that today, so I’m in good shape.

It feels great to get back into a regular writing routine, and I want to say thanks to all of you Rowers for your support.

If you haven’t read Spear The Monster, a post about dealing with crippling self-doubt by NYTBSA Allison Brennan, go read it now. Allison is honest about her recent struggles, and it’s a post every writer needs to read. It’s encouraging to know that we ALL deal with self-doubt, whether we’re just starting out or have seventeen best sellers.

Hope everyone is having a great week!

About Stacy Green

Stacy Green is the best selling author of psychological thrillers and mystery with a dash of romance. As a stay at home mom, she's blessed with making writing a full-time career. She lives in Iowa with her supportive husband, daughter, and their three fur-babies.
This entry was posted in Row80 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Row80 Check In 1-11-12: Rowing Forward

  1. heatherishither says:

    I will go read that. Thanks! Have a good rest of the week, Stacy! Nice work getting back in your groove.

  2. Way to go! 2000 words in one sitting is great!
    Oh, I’m still struggling to go back to my regular routine. Can’t wait to start writing more.
    Keep it up!

  3. Sounds like you are having a great week. Keep it up!

  4. Camille says:

    Go Stacy!

    One thing I’ve learned is that confidence doesn’t seem to have much to do with how talented or even competent a person is. Other than sometimes the inverse ratio applies — people who are good at what they do are more likely to see the flaws.

    • Stacy Green says:

      Thanks, and your comment is so true. It does seem like the more talented/driven a person is the more issues they find. Perhaps that’s what makes them so successful.

  5. Ohhhh. Any cool middle aged women roles in your play? I have lots of experience! LOL

    I’m going to go check the post you suggest… Spear the Monster.

    Thank you for aiming me there and as always, it is always a pleasure to interact with you and cheer your writing moments!

  6. Rockin the ROW you are. Gonna go read the blog post now.

  7. 2000 words in one sitting is awesome! I feel good when I make it over 1000! LOL

    Good job so far this week!

  8. GREAT week Stacy – wow – nice to get into that routine for SURE! 🙂 Can’t wait to check out that post – thanks for the FAB resource!

  9. Fabio Bueno says:

    You’re doing great on your goals, Stacy! Thanks for pointing me to the “Spear the Monster” post; it is a sobering read. Loved the cute picture, BTW 🙂

  10. Kelly says:

    I love this ‘making writing a habit’ promotion as it is so incredibly important. I love seeing what can be created in such a short space of time.

    I certainly read through the piece you suggested too.

    Thank you for sharing,
    Kelly.
    http://www.blog.co.uk/user/koldham/

    • Stacy Green says:

      Thanks so much! Yes, Kait Nolan started Row80, and it’s been a great experience for me. Not only does it help motivate me to write, but I’ve also gained a wonderful support group. Hope you liked Allison’s piece as well:)

  11. Things are so much easier when you get a routine going. I hope to keep mine up as well. Good luck!

  12. Julie Glover says:

    Very nice, Stacy! I always like how focused your goals are.

  13. Two thousand words…good for you!
    I haven’t read Allison’s post, but it sounds great.
    And the picture…it’s just adorable.

  14. LOL for the kitten pic. Sometimes I feel like that kitten. 😀 And thanks for the book recommendation. I’m definitely going to nab that one.

    Congrats on your progress. Woohoo on those 2k words in one day!

Talk To Me!

